Roy, The Very Special Boy


Roy, The Very Special Boy

Authors R. Aarathi, Y. Faith, S. Sarah Suen, A. Saleha,
Illustrator A. Saleha

This engaging book depicts the story of little Roy, who is with Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD). Embark on a journey with Roy, as he takes you through a typical day of his life as a child with ADHD.

Cover Page

Cover Page

 

Notes to the readers

Notes to the readers

Pg 1 (picture)

Pg 1 (picture)

Pg 1 (text)

Pg 1 (text)

My name is Roy,
and I’m a boy.

They call me a monkey,
but I’m just a little jumpy.

Pg 2 (picture)

Pg 2 (picture)

Pg 2 (text)

Pg 2 (text)

“Roy, where is your pencil case?
Why can’t you keep your things in place?”

It’s not my fault I must express.
I think it’s cause of this big mess.

Pg 3 (picture)

Pg 3 (picture)

Pg 3 (text)

Pg 3 (text)

“Eyes on the board Roy, look in front!
How many times have you heard me grunt?”

I’m really sorry Miss Grace,
I was just busy exploring space.

Pg 4 (picture)

Pg 4 (picture)

Pg 4 (text)

Pg 4 (text)

“Hey Roy, it’s rude to jump the line.
Please go to the back, be kind.”

Apologies, I just can’t wait.
It seems to me I’m running late.

Pg 5 (picture)

Pg 5 (picture)

Pg 5 (text)

Pg 5 (text)

“Roy, get down now, do you hear?
It’s not safe there, have you no fear?”

But it’s fun being upside down,
It takes away a person’s frown.

Pg 6 (picture)

Pg 6 (picture)

Pg 6 (text)

Pg 6 (text)

“Why, why, R-O-Y
Do you even bother to try?

You failed your test, now you’re feeling the blues,
But that’s what you get when you don’t follow the rules.”

Pg 7 (picture)

Pg 7 (picture)

Pg 7 (text)

Pg 7 (text)

“What happened Roy, my darling boy?
You seem so down, with that big frown.”

I tried my very, VERY best,
But I still couldn’t pass this test.

Pg 8

Pg 8

“Don’t listen to all their lies,
You’ll always be special in my eyes.

No matter what happens Roy,
You’ll always be my beloved boy.”

Pg 9

Pg 9

Back cover

Back cover

Footnote: This is an original school project by my daughter and her friends. I am putting it online to share with all what it may be like through the eyes of a boy with ADHD.

Leave a Reply

